The Independent Schools of Tasmania (IST) is an association of non-government schools. It co-ordinates views of member schools in submissions to government and other bodies. It advises and supports member schools at their request. The Association also administers Federal and State Program funding for independent schools within the state.

The Association comprises of 31 independent schools (39 campuses) and is affiliated to the Independent Schools Council of Australia (ISCA).

The principal office of the Association is in Hobart and there is a small regional office in Launceston. The Association normally holds an Annual General Meeting in Term 1 and a General Meeting in Term 3. The meetings are usually held in Launceston or Hobart.

The Schools

There are a variety of schools within the Association with differing philosophies and aims. Nine independent schools have a Principal/Headmaster who is a member of the Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia (AHISA).

  • 9 schools are affiliated to the Christian Education National (CEN)
  • 3 schools are affiliated to the Anglican Church
  • 2 schools are affiliated to the Seventh Day Adventist Church
  • 2 schools are affiliated Rudolph Steiner School Education
  • One school is affiliated to each of the following: Christian Schools Australia, The Society of Friends (Quaker), the Lutheran Church, the Free Reformed Church, Uniting Church & the Baptist Church.
  • One school is a Special School and one a Special Assistance School.
  • Six independent schools are non-affiliated.

Tony Crehan

Executive Director

Juliana Shea

Manager, Finance & Administration

Chrissy Gamble

Senior Education Consultant - South

Alison Venter

Education Consultant - North

Michael Shorter

Industrial Consultant

Mike Frost

VET Consultant

Tess Rival-Quinn

Administration Executive

Sarah Woodcock-Davis

Literacy Consultant

Mark Seager

Early Years Education Consultant